Metal Pointer
  • ☆back to index☆
  • Thoughts, events, etc

    3.24.24

    Been making MOVES as of late. Not many wins tho besides really good midterm grades but oh well I will keep applying for shit. There is one more internship I'm kinda hopeful about but realistically I will fr be at the nursery. Innn other news:
    Catalan streak on duolingo is #back and we're at 15 days.
    Got a 200x clip on lens with a light for my phone so I've been able to see springtails a lot better.
    Uhh I ordered an mp3 player the other day and blabbered about that on my spacehey (OH i need to add that link on the index) and that should be here wednesday.
    Got a really good matcha tonic yesterday but it was expensive so that's gonna be a one time thing
    I neeeeed to go outside so this afternoon I might walk down to this one spot and visit the frogs
    Yeah things have just been Decent ?? but uneventful. It feels like there's been 0 progress on anything but I'm hoping it'll all hit at once later on, like when something's stalling before just shooting tf off. Even if that isn't what's going on maybe I can force it to be that way. Ough

    3.3.24

    Feb felt crazy long since I've been busier with classes and clubs and stuff. All critters besides the titan isopods are doing really good and I feel bad for getting them at this point. Another one died and I can't tell why exactly but if the other 4 go then I won't get more and might 'replace' them with a. nasatum peach. My best friend also finally got a date thank god!! Nothing really major has happened Yet but i've started checking out more bug books from the library bc apparently there's tons of good ones. Staffed a high school quizbowl tournament yesterday which was super fun tbh but I HAVE to actually study Something before the next one I play at bc I'm still ass. Really been Appreciating my buddies lately

    2.8.24

    So far the new critters are doing well and another one of my isopods had her kids finally. The millipede spent like 2 hours eating a piece of a carrot this afternoon. This week has felt stressful for no real reason but I've been productive so I guess that's good. The weather during the day has also been really nice lately and my last T/T class got cancelled both times thank god. I've finally had time to catch up on chores and sit on my couch in the living room instead of getting straight in bed. Stats is still fun tbh. Kinda hard but it's cool getting to have so much freedom with the data analysis homework and what we "study". Going to Atlanta this weekend for quizbowl and I'm actually looking forward to this one since it's at a nicer school and I might do okay. I just want to contribute since we have a really small group going.

    2.5.24

    OUUUUUUGH yesterday was so fun :D another reptile show with some cool new stuff and an absolutely massive boa I got to hold for 5$. Didn't mind at all bc I've always wanted to do that and I like that vendor a lot. (Almost) everyone there is so cool and nice and makes me glad to be into inverts/reptiles. Got 4 beetles and a millipede which means I have MAJOR site updates to do but By God that is gonna take me a second. Both of my isopods released mancae within the past 2-3 days so gotta add that too. The quizbowl tournament this weekend also went surprisingly well and individually I ranked about like 30/68 which is my best yet. My friend got a TON of new critters (frog, new scorpion, fish) and my other friend got Plants bc he's making a windowsill planeter that'll hopefully end up looking really cool and #springvibes. Still hoping we go hiking soon

    1.28.24

    First week of school wasn't bad at all really! More demanding classes for sure but I have a lot of big gaps in the days that'll literally force me to do homework or study. I also hung out with 2 my friends and one of their friends a lot this week and weekend. Yesterday my best friend and I got some REAAAALLLY good crepes downtown and went to the library. Ran errands with my other buddy today. Sadly I didn't get tha research job, but I actually don't think anyone did. He emailed saying that his funding got halved which is just lame af for all involved. I did email someone in my department to try to find another thing though. Can't give up!
    One or two more isopod mishaps this week that have me super frustrated with myself but I'm doing everything I can to learn from it and fix it. I rehomed two species to smaller plastic xl critter totes, switched to pouring water over the moss instead of misting, and added more springtails from petsmart to outcompete mites. Basically I just made the stupid mistake of keeping things too dry.
    Vibes wise it's been rainy and good tea weather. I'm glad it'll be lighter later soon. I REALLY want to go hiking though and got an insect/spider field guide at the used bookstore today. Saw some interesting people in there today...OH also I went to the mall on the #errandrun with my buddy today. Got a cute keychain for my backpack.

    1.20.24

    Eventful day today tbh. After installing R and Stata I was like 'huh..I should get a new laptop case'... and went out to get one since the ice is starting to melt. Picked up a really nice mechanical keyboard which I LOVE even tho I wasn't planning on getting it today, but I accidentally got a case for a macbook pro and not and air. Returned it like half an hour later but fucked up again bc I got a case for m2 and not m1 bc my Stupid Ass didn't check. Eventually managed to just return the thing and I'll order a cheaper one. This semester is gonna be harder (but maybe more fun?) for sure since it's way more math heavy. Even though it would mean a liiiiittle more work I hope I get that research assistant job so I can at least make some extra money through it all (; ̄Д ̄)

    1.14.24:

    Eventually I'll make this layout a little better, maybe with toggle sections by months and more responsiveness when you click on something. Updating my notion and watching it snow rn BUT the snow might mean I can't go back to The City My College Is In tomorrow like planned which SUCKSSS bc I wanted some time up there early to get settled cleaned etc before classes start. Not *really* complaining since I like snow but this is the one time I actually didn't pack last minute and have my stuff together (ಥ﹏ಥ). One of my friends is out of the country rn studying abroad and he's always fun to talk to but idk what time zone he's in and I always wonder if I bug him sending him stupid shit (I don't think I do, he's just hard to read ack). Oh also another buddy and I went to this cool british themed bakery the other day and it was crazy nice but we had to walk back in the rain with no umbrella. Worth it tho. Site-wise I'm prob just gonna do longer and less frequent updates on here and am also going on an antipixel hunt since there's room for that on tha index page.
    Another thing: apparently I've just been using my french press the completely wrong way this whole time. Putting the grounds on top of the little strainer thing and wondering why it didn't pour right.

    1.7.24:

    Bc of stomach issues I've seriously had to cut back on caffeiene but goddd the headaches are not fun. I also wish I had a job rn so I could keep making money during longer breaks but it doesn't seem realistic to hire someone totally new for three weeks out of the year especially if I'm somewhere else for the summers. Speaking of that, if I can't get an internship (they seem to want juniors and I'm complete ass at interviews) I might just work at a garden center so I can at least keep taking bug pics on the job. I know I've probably bitched about it before but it's hard having smart friends that seem to get those types of things so easily. They're so far ahead and just get thing after thing naturally. It's not easy obv and they def don't make it look easy but I wish I was like that. On that topic I also hate how much my family hypes me up when I'm still nowhere near the level of my buddies and only take easy classes.

    1.3.24:

    I've thought more about it and I think the main aspect of my goal to get more #offline is def just detaching from large social media platforms. Right now my main issue is instgram, so i've set a 5 hr limit (will decrease over time) on the app. I don't see as much of an issue with other stuff online tho like neocities obv, SOME subreddits, forums, and youtube. I really just have beef with short form content (tiktok reels shorts etc) and what that does to your brain and prefer the idea of spending online time in places where you connect directly with people over more specific interests and don't have any incentive to engage in toxic/fake shit like on tt and ig. Meaningless online discourse also annoys me because I really do not want to hear about or waste energy on some totally worthless untalented microcelebrity that I haven't even heard of being problematic or not.
    The thing I've noticed that's been helping the most is not being like "ermmm is getting up to do [this other thing] really wooorth it??" because usually it isn't that important, but there's also literally no reason not to. Taking a walk, messing with stuff outside, whatever it is, doesn't actually matter much but it ends up feeling nice to be somewhere else and move around.

    1.1.24:

    Obligatory I've ben typing this blog post for two years joke first of all DAM..... Not too many deep thoughts really besdies that I wanna make a mini vivarium for yellow albino springtails. Some stuff I was grateful for in 2023 is having a better time during football season, all a's, getting to go out more and to reptile shows and all that, farmin outside this summer, and getting better at managing my money. AND I think between last spring semester and my current outside of school interests I've learned a lot more about coding and stuff which is nice bc I've always felt behind in that area. I also managed to meet up with my high school friends over break yipeeee. Might get up and get a twix to cope with my enstars gacha luck being total ass once again. I've been working on this anyways but my Main goal for next year is to be more offline or at least off of "mainstream" social media. I'm trying to set time limits on instagram use bc that's my main issue rn :P

    12.30.23:

    Ordered the extra 5 AND the fourth og one has showed up! 4/6 isn't ~great~ but individuals really make a difference right now. In other news, the more I get into inverts the more I get people that find springtails cute. They clean up after literally everything and are like little assistants to isopods, so if I do another tank I might get a reallllly small one and just have those in there now that I have a macrolens. Also this new years time is slightly less depresing than usual but I still can't get behind the hype of all the stuff on TV for new years eve. That and the award shows coming up just suckkkk. OH i also got really good french press coffee tonight! It's weird how different fancy restaurant stuff feels/tastes compared to my attempts to make it with my mini one at home.

    12.29.23:

    ERM i hope I die not really but kinda. One of my new pods died shortly after arrival and I can't find two of them, so theyre either fine and just hiding or also dead. I don't think I could've prevented it but I know it's my fault at least partially and the wasted money pisses me off too. This coming wednesday I can order 5 more for 25$ which is Surprisingly good and i prob shouldn't have bought off ebay to begin with but yk. Nothing wrong with the seller either I'm just an actual fucking idiot. The good news is I did get a chocolate titan!

    12.27.23:

    Good day so far bc I went to the mall and conveyorbelt sushi HOWEVER. I had an endeavor contacting a seller on ebay that I'm buying ispopods from. At first I said I wouldn't be able to pick them up (could mean they die bc Cold) bc i was STUPID and thought it meant like pick up IN THEIR NEVADA LOCATION instead of at the shipping place like right by my house . I was so scairt for a while there and felt bad but it got sorted out and he got my messages basically saying oops i Can Pick Them Up. Dude is a real one. ANNYYYYWYAYYYYYYY here's the cop

    12.26.23:

    Uhhh I wish I had something interesting to put on here but tbh I don't. The closest thing I have is that I ate a crepe for the first time in a few years and saw a dude crossdressing (unrealistically large honkers and ripped leggings etc) going into the pet store. Nothing wrong with that but I wonder what they were gonna get there and why they picked the #hotmess look for a 10am petco run. Just realized I never put anything about amadeus in here which is CRAZY bc that really is the movie ever. It was referenced by fob and s;g0 which already means it has something going for it for me, but the movie honestly was so good by itself and they just Do Not Make stuff like that anymore. I wish I knew more about the music in it though to appreciate it better and for soundtrack reasons. I get that it's pretty but I still know jackshit about specific classical music pieces and operas and their significance. Also I thinkkkk one of the best things I got for christmas might be the coldb rew maker, depending on how coarse "coarse ground coffee beans" really are and if it's actually cheaper to get those than buy those bottles of premade cold brew.

    Current song

    Solitude/Waste of a man/This fades as soon as the sun sets/I now own this fatal role that lives/Imagine here's a better feel/Told to dissolve or choose to fade/Or stay here, you'll live/If you ever enter my mind/Stay there, you'll live/Defend it off and fool them all/Stay there, you'll live